top of page

Finding Joy in Obedience

When obedience comes to mind, what’s your initial reaction? For many, including myself, it conjures images of begrudgingly doing something, often accompanied by a less-than-stellar attitude. I recall my high school days, scrubbing bathroom floors and showers before hanging out with friends on Saturdays – a task met with a teenage boy’s unmistakable attitude.


This past summer, while preparing for our Young Life Camping Trip to Timberwolf, an email landed in my inbox from a pastor at my church, urgently seeking aid for their Hand2Hand ministry, a ministry seeking to provide food for kids facing weekend hunger in West Michigan. Typically, I might have glanced over it, assuming someone else would step up, and clicked archive (never delete!). Yet, a sense lingered that this time, I was going to be “the guy." I delayed my response until after camp, almost hoping someone else had volunteered. How often do we dodge responsibilities, attempting to rationalize it by citing larger commitments or scarcity of time and resources? It’s a tale we often weave in our own minds. After my week at camp, I finally mustered up a response. My response wasn’t even yes, it was, “Did anyone else reach out yet?” The pastor's reply was direct: "NO! Do you have someone in mind? It’s an important role for this fall." I hesitated, still wondering, "Will someone else step in?" As I continued to drag my feet, another email from this pastor followed in my inbox a few days later: “I might have mentioned this before, but I can forget things easily. Are you open to learning more?” You can guess how the story unfolded. I eventually accepted the role.


However, that’s not where the story truly ends. Most Tuesdays now find me driving to Feeding America in either my 2002 Honda Odyssey or borrowing my in-laws’ truck (HUGE GIFT). I set off around 8:40 am to secure the day's first pick-up at 9 am, loading 600-1,000 pounds of food destined for nearly 200 local school children in Kentwood. By the time I reach KCC and transfer it all to the shelves, it’s nearing 11 am. This is not necessarily the most convenient way to start my day.


A few weeks back, the gentleman who used to handle the pick-ups joined me at the church. While his back has limited his physical labor, he assisted in gathering groceries for a woman that asked Annika for some help with groceries. His gratitude was palpable, bringing me a sense of joy in seeing his gratitude, a rare feeling since accepting the responsibility. The following week, with Annika at work, I took our nearly 3-year-old, Selah, along for the trip. I anticipated a few challenges on my horizon with a toddler in the midst of potty training joining me, but Selah, ever curious and adventurous, reveled in the experience. Witnessing her enthusiasm while aiding her dad made it all worthwhile, and I captured that moment in a photo.



It was then I was reminded… once again… that joy doesn’t always accompany obedience immediately. Sometimes, it arrives unexpectedly down the road, often when you’re amidst others. I hope my daughter grasps this concept far sooner than I did. I share this story not to burden you with additional responsibilities but to encourage heeding that nudge toward obedience already within you. Perhaps it’s serving at your local church, initiating a Bible Study, starting to tithe, inviting neighbors for a meal, or, like a friend of mine recently, saying “yes” to mentoring a local teen dad. It won’t always be easy, but blessings and joy will follow, akin to the essence of the Christmas Story – the tale of God’s son entering our world, not for convenience or comfort, but out of obedience. The story seemingly culminating in His death, yet leading to life for all believers. That’s the beauty of it! My prayer is that each of you discovers joy through obedience, not just during this giving season but in every facet of life – your work, family, church, and within all the extraordinary spaces and people you encounter.

bottom of page